Stewart Island areaPart of Stewart Island
Stewart Island/Rakiura Community Board Chairman is: email@example.comOther Members of the Stewart Island/Rakiura Community Board: On Wednesday, 8:30-12:00 and 14:00-16:00, about 440 loads are hooked up to the power grid of Stewart Island, which is operated by the Stewart Island Electrical Power Authority (SIESA). SIESA also manages the Rakiura Resource Recovery Centre and the island's refuse collections.
Excursions in Southland
Halfmoon Bay's high wooded areas are mainly found at www.halfmoon bay.com and romu. The most widespread species is wavy, with a white spotted stem and slightly wavy, serrated leaf. The Fuchsia is one of the few broad-leaved New Zealand broad-leaved species. There are many species that grow on the soil or hang on top of plants.
Guests travelling by ferry often see the bird life of Stewart Island with its jagged waters, seagulls, buller's molly mawks, black cap doves and small coconuts. Near Halfmoon Bay you can see bellsbirds, www. bellebirds, www. bellebirds.com and conake. The majority of the islanders pride themselves on having these bird species, as well as the fantail and pigeon in their shelters.
Summers sound with the flowing tune of www.paterson inlet high in the tree or shout over the water. There is a lot of inter-tidal activity to discover around the seashore near Halfmoon Bay, especially in Ringaringa. Stewart Island has more kiwis than humans!
They are less hasty, much friendlier and much more independent than in most other places. Obans Halfmoon Bay has long been the main attraction at Stewart Island/Rakiura. It was once the site of shipbuilding activities, while Lonnekers Beach and Leask Bay are associated with early whale hunting and haul.
The island's first franchised guesthouse on Lonnekers Beach was opened in 1875 and the huge blue gums that can be seen today were sown. Neck, the small promontory at the east end of Paterson Inlet/Whaka a Te Wera, was also the site of early activities. The Neck became the biggest village in the region M?ori in 1864, when the island was bought by the Crowns.
Between 1844 and 1885 the priest JFH Wohlers, whose Ringaringa commemorative site today towers above his community on the south shore, ministered to the Neck town. Around 1870 Halfmoon Bay was a small but vibrant community that was home to the fisheries and wood processing sectors. In 1902 a phone line was routed across the street of Foveaux, and in 1920 a cooling system provided an important impulse for the fisheries sector.
Nowadays, the island's most important industry sectors are fishing for Atlantic Cod, crab and poafish, as well as the cultivation of fish for oysters and so on. Passengers can either take the boat to Halfmoon Bay or, for passengers, take the Ryan's Creek runway shuttles. From Bluff, the boat departs in one hours, while the island is 20-minute flight from Invercargill Air.