New Zealand South Island Cities

South Island New Zealand Cities

This is a complete guide to the cities of the South Island of New Zealand. Useful links to the most important cities and tourist resorts on the South Island of New Zealand. The main settlements are Christchurch, Dunedin, Invercargill and Nelson, although the main attractions are rare in the cities. The four cities are very different. It is the largest and has a certain English flair, although it is definitely a city of the New World.

Cities in New Zealand

In New Zealand, the term "city" has taken on two connotations after the municipal reform of 1989. Prior to the reform, a town councillor with more than 20,000 inhabitants could be declared a town. However, the borders of the councillors rather followed the border of the built-up area, so that there were hardly any differences between the town and the municipal area.

New Zealand's municipal administration was fundamentally restructured in 1989. New counties and town halls were almost always much bigger in geographical terms and cover both the municipal and inland. In the past, many sites that had a "city council" are now ruled by a "municipal council".

In a general way, the term "city" is used to describe the New Zealand metropolitan areas, regardless of physical border. For example, the Gisborne county administration described itself as the first "city" in the whole wide globe to see the new age. Gisborne, however, is ruled by a "district council", although its New Zealand township is not generally controversial.

Similarly, there is no "city council" in Auckland, although its position as a town is not generally controversial due to its age. Collections shown in the following chart are New Zealand temporary residents, June 2017,[2] and cover the whole of the metropolitan area, unless otherwise indicated. The Kapiti Urbane Area (42,300) is New Zealand's only major metropolitan area that is not included.

Otaki, Paekakariki, Paraparaumu, Raumati and Waikanae are not regarded as cities. This is part of the Greater Wellington Regional Council - although it is shown as a separate area by Statistics New Zealand. Had Kapiti joined Wellington, the overall Wellington metropolitan area would be around 450,000.

Hamilton has a total of 198,600 inhabitants, Cambridge 20,200 and Te Awamutu 17,250. Hastings has 70,000 inhabitants and Napier 63,100. It is still widely used due to its older Wanganui notation.

Seldomly called a small village, Blenheim (31.300) is called a small village. Pukekohe, a small village not far south of Auckland, has approximately 30,800 inhabitants. Once a councillor, Timaru (29,000) is now managed by a county councillor. Statistics New Zealand classifies it as a suburban area.

It' still a big South Canterbury and the center of South Canterbury. Street signposts indicate the "city centre" instead of the "city centre". It is seldom called Taupo (24,500). The Masterton (21,800), the Wairarapa's major center, is seldom described as a small towns. The Levin (20,900), the major center in Horowhenua County, is not regarded as a cityscape.

For a long time Tokoroa was to become a town, when the number of inhabitants rose to over 18,000 in the 1980s. Collections shown are the latest (June 2017)[2] New Zealand's estimates of residential age. In 1989, many cities were restructured into counties by the Local Government Commission under the Local Government Act 1974, for example Timaru.

Others areas that are no longer cities, such as Rotorua and Whangarei, have a larger population than some of today's cities. Tauranga is the most recently designated town, which has been a town for the second year since 1 March 2004. Also Christchurch (1862 and 1868) and Invercargill (1930 and 1991) were repeatedly designated as cities.

Pursuant to section 27 of the Local Government Act 2002, a districts may request a reassessment of its designation under either a "reorganization program" from the Local Government Commission or under section 27(1) of the Act, pursuant to section 7 ofule 3. A new town must have "a populace of no less than 50,000 people", "predominantly urban" and "an independent unit and an important center of activities within the region" (or regions) it is surrounded by.

According to Annex 2, Part 2 of the Act, consisting cities are grand fathers. Tauranga Municipal Councillor is the only new councillor who has been under this section since March 1, 2004. Up to now, according to Section 37L of the Local Government Act 1974, new cities could only be founded as part of a "reorganization program".

Invercargill, the last town to be founded under this section, was restructured into a town in 1991. The town of Hutt was appointed to the council of the town of Hutt in 1991 by a specific law of the parliament[1], which did not alter the name[2] of the town of Hutt; the town' s crest still relates to the "town of Hutt".

New Zealand's provincialist regime, from 1852 until its abolishment in 1876, did not have a single system of municipal government. So there is a dispute over which of the following cities was the first. In the Municipal Corporations Act 1876, the first list of cities contained the data they were made with.

It was the first New Zealand town to be called the "City of..." in a parliamentary law, now automatically under the 2002 Act on Municipalities. Until October 1989, the self-governing commission restructured the self-government. Consequently, some cities have been restructured into other major cities or transformed into counties, and some of these areas are still regarded by many New Zealanders as cities.

Auch interessant

Mehr zum Thema