Map of Micronesia Polynesia and Melanesia

Micronesia Polynesia and Melanesia Map

Its main islands are Polynesia, Melanesia, Micronesia. Where' s Oceania? In general, Oceania is regarded as a part of the Pacific Ocean, but there are differences within Oceania's borders. Where' s Oceania? Oceania is made up of many isles in the Pacific Ocean.

The Oceania is further subdivided into the three sub-regions Polynesia, Melanesia and Micronesia.

Oceania is often used to refer to a continental area consisting of Australia and the neighbouring isles, or as a symbol of the Australian or Pacific Environmental Area. It is an environmental area comprising Micronesia, Polynesia (excluding New Zealand) and Fiji. Together with other Australian archipelagos, New Zealand forms Australia's own environmental protection area.

Oceania was invented in 1812 by Conrad Malte-Brun with the people of the area known as Oceania. At first Oceania was made up of Pacific Ocean country stretching from the Strait of Malacca to the coastline of America. There are four areas, Polynesia, Micronesia, Melanesia and Malaysia.

Today, parts of the three geologic sub-regions belong to the concept Oceania. Oceanía covers Sumatra, Bonin Island, Hawaiian Island, Rupa Nui Island and Macquarie Island. At the geographic ends of the area are Bonin, an area of Japan, Hawaii, an area of the USA and Easter Island, which is part of Chile.

A relatively smaller geographical area also covers Indonesia's Papua Guinea on the mainland of Australia, but not the country on the Sunda plate. From a biogeographical point of view, the area is another name for the Australia or Pacific environmental zone. Oceania is one of the 8 most important ecologically sensitive regions of the world.

Eco-Zone comprises Micronesia, Fiji and Polynesia (except New Zealand). In geopolitical terms, the concept of Oceania is used by the UN, the International Olympic Committee and several Atlantic islands to cover Australia and other Pacific countries such as Papua New Guinea. The Asia-America area is a broad regional area.

The Oceania is subdivided into three regions: Polynesia, Melanesia and Micronesia. The Melanesia stretches from New Guinea to the Arafura Sea and Fiji. The Melanesia area comprises four countries: New Guinea, Fiji, Solomon Island and Vanuatu. New Caledonia, a group from France and the western parts of New Guinea in Indonesia, is one of them.

Melanesia's isles often have both the name of Europeans and Indians, leading to chaos. Mikronesia is made up of several small islets in the west part of the Pacific, separated in cultural terms by Polynesia and Melanesia. Micronesia has a political division among sovereign states, three of which are US states. Micronesia's island area is approximately 2,100 sq. m. and covers a surface area of about 1,000squares.

Guam, the biggest of them, is about 225 sq m. Mikronesia has four large archipelagos: The Polynesia is made up of over 1,000 archipelagos spread over the centre and south of the Pacific. Most of the archipelago is made up of vulcanic islets formed by hot spots. The Polynesia region is a largely sunken Sealand region with an area of about 118,000 sq. m. and the biggest isle, New Zealand, of about 103,000 islets.

The Polynesian triangle is formed by the connection of the three isles Easter Island, Hawaiian Island and New Zealand. Oceania's story is based on that of Australia and other Pacific isles. It also builds on the histories of the three sub-regions Polynesia, Micronesia and Melanesia.

It was first discovered by Europeans in the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Between 1512 and 1525, Portugese discoverers arrived in the Moluccas, Timor, the island of Tanimbar and some parts of the islands of Carolina and New Guinea. From 1527 to 1595, several large Spaniards expedited the Pacific Ocean and discovered Marshall Island and Palau in the North Pacific.

He was the first to arrive in Tasmania and New Zealand and to map a significant part of Australia, New Zealand, Tonga and Fiji. He was the second discoverer of Europe to come to New Zealand 125 years after Tasman, and in 1778 he was the first of Europeans to do so.

Europeans and Americans colonised Oceania. From 1788 to 1872, the Britons founded several settlements, among them Australia, New Zealand and Fuji, with much of Oceania becoming UK territories. Kiribati and Tuvalu Islands also came under the English dome in the nineteenth c... Most of the Netherlands occupied the west half of Oceania.

In 1898 and 1902, the Netherlands authorities set up their first post in the south of the British New Guinea area. In order to encourage co-production, Germany founded its settlement and a commercial centre on the Jaluit and Ebon isles. In 1857, the USA extended into the Pacific with the acquisition of Baker and Howland Island.

At the beginning of the First World War, the Japanese took over Marshall Island. Oceania is a country that changes from one day to the next. Geopolitics and geography define the area in various ways. Organizations such as the United Nations, the Olympic Committee and other Atlantic countries include Australia and other Pacific nations such as Papua New Guinea in their definitions of Oceania.

Oceania has 34 inhabitants. Includes 7 million Australians and 13. The Australian continent excluded 4 million inhabitants. New Guinea is the most populous of the islands, followed by New Zealand and Hawaii with 5 inhabitants. The most sparsely inhabited of the islands, Pitcairn islets, with only 48 inhabitants.

In Oceania, Christianity is the most important religious system, although there are several other faiths, such as Hindu, Islam, Buddhism and tribalism.

Mehr zum Thema