Largest French Pacific Island

Biggest French Pacific Island

The Tahiti Islands, a paradise in the heart of the Pacific. It is the largest island in French Polynesia and is an area of the French Republic. Polynesian-French - French-Pacific dependencies Polynesia (Polynésie Française) in the South Pacific comprises five archipelagos. Iles de la Société (Society Islands) were founded by the British in 1767 and are the most important ones of all. These are Tahiti (17 40 S and about 149 20 W ), the largest French-Polynesian island with an area of 1,042 km2, Moorea and Raiatea.

In 1844 the French founded a protected society and made the island a settlement in 1880. Marquesas Isles (Îles Marquises, between 8 and 11 S and 138 and 141 W ), about 1,500 km from Tahiti, were explored by Spaniards in 1595 and annihilated by France in 1842.

Tuamotu Island, about 480 km (300 mi) S and SW of the Marquesas and comprising 78 isles covering an area of 800 km2, were explored by Spaniards in 1606 and invaded by France in 1881. Gambier Island, SE of Tuamotus, was explored by the British in 1797 and annihilated by France in 1881.

There are three archipelagos, Mangareva, Taravai and Akamaru. Tubuai or Australinseln ( "Îles Australes"), situated just to the south of the Society Isles, were found by James Cook in 1777 and annihilated by France in 1880. Clippererton Island (10 18 N and 109 12 W ), an unclaimed Mexican Atlantic Ocean Atlas of Mexico and about 2,900 km western of Panama, was occupied by France in 1858 and abandoned by Mexico in 1932, which had also used it.

It was placed under the French government's supervision in 1979. The area covers between 3,600 and 4,200 square kilometres (1,400 and 1,600 square miles). Tahitian and French (a Maori dialect) are the main language and English is also used. There are five districts in the area.

Enlargement: The Presidency supports the High Commission nominated by France, which is responsible for the whole Polynesia. There are two members of the French Senate and one member of the Senate representing the area in the French government. There are seven major carriers flying to and from French Polynesia. The phosphate reserves extracted on Makatea in the Tuamotu Islands were depleted until 1966.

It is home to the Pacific Nuclear Test Center, built in the 1960' on the Mururoa Toll, the Office for Overseas Scientific and Technical Research and the Oceanological Center of the Pacific (which is experimenting with prawn and oysters). France finally stopped all atomic tests in French Polynesia in 1996, after resuming the Mururoa tunnel tests in 1995.

It is denominated in the Communauté Française de pacifique Française, associated with the European Monetary Union at a exchange of ?1 = CFP CHF 19.25. It has a number of homes and privately owned facilities on the island and a large Tahitian public health clinic. There is a well-developed education system and the Université de la Polynésie Française (UPF) was founded in 1999 from the former Université Française of France.

In 1995 French Polynesia had 3 dailies, 5 AM channels, 2 FM radios and 6 TV channels.

Mehr zum Thema