Cook Islands Volcano

Volcano Cook Islands

Virtually every kind of oceanic island can be found in the Cooks. The Rarotonga is the only high volcanic island of the Tahiti type. The Rarotonga was formed by a huge, rocky volcano. Panoramic view from the top of the hike over the island. Brilliant red earth reveals the ancient volcanic origins of Mangaia.

mw-headline" id="Géographie>

It is the most populated of the Cook Islands with a combined populations of 10,572 (2011 census),[1] of the country's 14,974 inhabitants. Rarotonga is home to the Parliament of the Cook Islands and the world' s largest aerodrome. Being the most populated of the islands, Cook Islanders are often called Rarotongan, but they can also come from one of the other 14 islands in the group, such as Aitutaki or Mangaia.

It is a very favourite holiday resort with many resort, hotel and motel accommodation. Avarua on the northern coastline is the main city of the Cook Islands. Rarotonga Volcano is situated over 4,500 metres above sea level. The volcano has a surface area of almost 50 km (31 miles) at a total of 4,000 metres (13,000 ft).

At 658 meters (2,140 feet) above the surface, Te Manga is the highest summit of the isle. There is a shallow bay that often stretches over a hundred meters to the cliff and then drops to the depth. It is located in the northern part of the isle, making the Laguna unsuited for swim and aquatic activities, but in the south-east, especially around Muri, the Laguna is broadest and depth.

It is the most favourite part of the islands for snorkeling, sailing and visiting. Inland of the isle, the volcanoes are covered with thick greenery. Cobbled and dirt streets allow entry to the valley, but the inner part of the archipelago is largely uninhabited due to the forbidden landscape and missing infrastructures.

Much of the country was established in the southeast as a Takitumu sanctuary to preserve indigenous bird and plant life, especially the threatened cockroachori, the Rarotonga Catchfly. The Rarotonga is subdivided into three major areas or Vaka (tribes). The Te Au O Tonga on the north side of the isle ( "Avarua" is the capital), Takitumu on the eastside and southside and Puaikura on the west side.

It is also subdivided into five districts. Avarua county is under the name of Te Te Au O Tonga, Matavera, Ngatangiia and Titikaveka counties under the name of Takitumu and Arorangi county under the name of Puaikura. Palme-fringed coastline and sand form the main part of the islands, and there is a favourite walking tour that links the Avatiu River to the southern side of the isle.

Favourite snorkelling, snorkel, diving, cycling, kitesurfing, walking, ocean angling, boating, sightseeing trips, restaurant visits, dance, shows on the islands, playing squash, playing golf, playing golf, moped and relaxing on the seash. It has three ports, Avatiu, Avarua and Avana, of which only the port of Avatiu is of commercially importance.

Avatiu has a small naval base serving intermediate islands and fishery boats, with regular freighters calling from New Zealand via other Pacific Islands harbours. Big cruisers come to Rarotonga on a regular basis, but the harbor is too small for cruisers and they have to dock out.

It is surrounded by a major street, Ara Tapu, which runs along the coastline. Three districts of Rarotonga is also surrounded by the old inner street, Ara Metua. There are several important monasteries along this street, among them Arai Te Tonga, the holiest sanctuary in Rarotonga. Because of the mountains in the inner part there is no street that crosses the isle.

There are only two lines: counterclockwise and counterclockwise. Anyone who rents a scooter or car for public transport on the islands needs a Cook-licence. Travellers from Australia, New Zealand, the USA, Canada, Great Britain and the EU can now travel on the Cook Islands with their licence for up to six month.

8 ] There is a $20 charge for a Cook Islands driver's licence and a test for anyone who wants to use a small motorbike (up to 125 cc), which includes a writing test and a hands-on test of cycling. The Rarotonga is the Cook Islands' main city. Rarotonga offers internal services to Aitutaki, scheduled services to Atiu, Mangaia, Mauke and Mitiaro and sporadic services to the secluded north of the Manihiki, Tongareva (Penrhyn) and Pukapuka islands.

Robert Dean Frisbie passed away on the Iceland after living there for a short time. Finn by the Finn Brothers' 1995 record ends with the track "Kiss the Road of Rarotonga", which is the inspiration for a motorbike crash Tim Finn had during a sojourn there. Survivor: Cook Islands was shot on Aitutaki, one of the islands in the South Group.

Rarotonga (or Raro for short) was one of the strains. There are a number of movies associated with Rarotonga: The Other Side of Heaven, shot here, which takes place in Niuatoputapu, Tonga, but was partly shot on Rarotonga, and Johnny Lingo, which takes place here.

The 2008 movie Nim's Iceland portrays Rarotonga as a landmark for fictitious adventurer Alexandra Rover (Jodie Foster) on her trip from San Francisco to an isle in the South Pacific. Yolanda Vargas Dulché and Guillermo de la Parra Rarotonga, Mexico's authors, published a cartoon whose story unfolded on the islands in 1951.

This cartoon was the inspiration for a 1978 shot Mexico flick and a track by the Mexico based rocking group Café Tacuba. Another Shore from 1948 has as its main characters an Irishman who dreams of living on Rarotonga. Hesseman's figure "Smooth Walker" booked a plane to Rarotonga in the 1983 Dan Aykroyd documentary "Doctor Detroit".

Mehr zum Thema