Aegean Islands List

List of Aegean Islands

Aegean Islands pictures : Aegean Islands List Photos / Pictures. The Aegean Islands, Greek islands in the Aegean, especially the Cyclades, Sporades and Dodecanese. The Cyclades, the Dodecanese, the north-eastern Aegean Islands, the Argo-Saronic Islands, the Sporades and the Ionian Islands. The admiralty numbers are from volume N of the Admiralty List of Lights & Fog Signals.

List of the Greek Islands

Archipelagoes of the Aegean. Most of the Ionian Sea and its islands are not shown. Crete, on the south bank of the Aegean Sea, is the biggest of Greece's islands. Euboea, the second biggest of the islands, is part of the Central Greece area, and it is divided from the continent by the 60 m Euripus road.

The other islands, after the third and forth biggest islands of Greece, Lesbos and Rhodes, are two third of the area of Rhodes or smaller. Hellenic islands are divided into the following traditional clusters: Argo-Saron Islands in the Argo-Saron Sea near Athens; the Cyclades, a large but thick cluster that occupies the centre of the Aegean; the Northern Aegean Islands, a loosely grouped off the western coastline of Turkey; the Dodecanese, another loosely grouped group in the south-east between Crete and Turkey; the Sporades, a small narrow group off the coastline of Euboea; and the Ionian Islands, which lie mainly in the Ionian Sea to the western part of the Iland.

The islands of Cretan and Euba are not part of this group. In the following the biggest islands of Greece are listet by area. All islands with an area of more than 37 sq. km (96 km2) are shown in the chart. The list contains islands that were once populated but are now uninhabited:

There are 164 islands, 26 of which are populated. It is a list of islands, small islands and cliffs that encircle the Isle of Crete. Pontikonisi Isle ( "Mouse Island"), which has the form of a mice. Turkey disputes the Hellenic assertion (Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Turkey: "The Kardak Dispute" of November 30, 2012).

Gruppen von Inseln="mw-editsection-bracket">[===="/w/index.php?title=Aegean_Islands&action=edit&section=1" title="Edit section" : archipelagos">edit]>>

Aegean Islands (Greek: ????? ???????, translated: Nisiá Aigaíou; Turkish: Ege Adalar?) are the group of islands in the Aegean, with Greece to the western and northern continents and Turkey to the eastern parts; Crete borders the ocean to the southern part, Rhodes, Karpathos and Kasos to the south-east.

Archipelago (???????????, Archipelagos), the old name of the Aegean Sea, was later used for the islands it contains and is now used more generally to relate to any group of islands. Most of the Aegean Islands are part of Greece and are divided into nine administration areas. Turkey's only large estates in the Aegean are Imbros (Gökçeada) and Tenedos (Bozcaada) in the northeast of the sea.

The majority of the islands benefit from hot summers and cool winters, due to the Mediterranean weather. Aegean Islands are divided into seven traditional groups, from Northeast to South: Isole Italiane dell'Egeo refers sometimes to the islands captured by Italy during the 1912 Italo-Turkish War and captured (by the Treaty of Lausanne) from 1923 to 1947: the Dodecanese, which included Rhodes and Kastellorizo.

Under the 1947 peace treaty, these islands under Italy's control were transferred to Greece. The Thracian group of islands in the Aegean Sea includes Thásos, Samothrace and Lemnos. Aegean, The Columbia Encyclopedia, Sixth Edition.

Auch interessant

Mehr zum Thema